What is a Pressure Washer and How Does it Work?

A pressure washer, also known as a power washer, is a motor driven device that propels water at high pressure to remove dirt, dust, grime, and stains from vehicles, siding, concrete and stone, wood fences and decks, windows, and much more around the house. Tough cleaning jobs that would take hours to perform manually with a garden hose, bucket and scrub brush, can be completed in a fraction of the time with the help of a pressure washer. Not only do pressure washers make quick work of these cleaning projects, they also reduce overall water consumption by as much as 80%.

Anatomy of a Pressure Washer:

Regardless of which pressure washer you choose to purchase, you will find the basic layout and design to be quite similar from model to model. The key components of a pressure washer are as follows:

In addition to these key components, you will find that some units come with onboard detergent tanks or detergent applicators, spray tips that allow you to alter the spray pattern of the water, and other accessory attachments designed for specific cleaning projects such as automobiles, floor scrubbing, or window washing.

A
Electric Motor or Gas Engine — The power source for the high pressure pump. On electric models the motor is concealed inside the body of the pressure washer, while on a gas models the engine is readily visible.
B
Water Inlet — (electric or gas/diesel) Attaches to a garden hose and draws water into the pump from the faucet.
C
High Pressure Pump — Water is drawn into the high pressure pump where it is pressurized before being expelled through the water outlet.
D
High Pressure Hose — Specially designed and reinforced to safely transport the pressurized water to the spray gun.
E
Spray Gun/Wand — Designed with a trigger system, the spray gun enables the user and engage and disengage the high pressure water spray by squeezing or releasing the trigger in the gun handle.
F
Wheels — Allows for the pressure washer to be easily rolled from location to location – no lifting.

Important Pressure Washer Terms

When shopping for a pressure washer you may come across some unfamiliar terms. The following is a glossary of the most common terms and their definitions.

PSI: Pounds Per Square Inch, is a measure of the water pressure generated by the pump. The higher the PSI, the more pressure that is being generated.

GPM: Gallons Per Minute, refers to the volume of water that the pressure washer uses when the spray gun is engaged. Higher GPM typically means more effective cleaning.

CU: Cleaning Units, is calculated by multiplying PSI x GPM. The combined number is a good overall indicator of relative cleaning effectiveness, with higher being better.

CC: Cubic Centimeters, is a common measurement of gas engine size. The higher the CC, the larger the engine and the more power it will generate.

Selecting the Right Pressure Washer

Broadly speaking there are two types of pressure washers designed for residential use – electric and gas powered. Electric pressure washers are more compact and lighter in weight than their gasoline powered counterparts, and are ideal for small to medium sized residential cleaning projects. Electric pressure washers are also relatively maintenance free and don’t require oil changes or gas fill ups. In contrast,  gas engine powered pressure washers deliver higher pressure than electric powered units making them ideal for medium to heavy-duty cleaning projects. Gas pressure washers are also great if you are working in areas where an electrical outlet is not available. The engine of a powered pressure washer, like other gas powered equipment, does however require regular maintenance to keep it in proper working order.

ELECTRICGAS-ENGINE
checkmark_blueCompact and lightweightcheckmark_blueMore powerful and durable
checkmark_blueLow maintenance – no need to add fuel or oilcheckmark_blueUltimate portability – no need to locate power source or manage extension cords
checkmark_blueBest for light to medium-sized cleaning projectscheckmark_blueWide range of cleaning projects requiring medium to heavy-duty power

How Much PSI is Enough?

Light-duty pressure washers in the 1,300 to 1,700 PSI range are great for cleaning patio furniture, lawn equipment, stairs, and vehicles such as automobiles and small SUV’s.

Medium-duty pressure washers in the 1,800 to 2,000 PSI range can tackle bigger projects like large SUV’s, RV’s, siding and fencing, decks, garage floors and driveways.

Heavy-duty pressure washers in the 2,100 PSI and above range deliver extra cleaning power and are great for large jobs such as long driveways, farm equipment, and paint stripping. Pressure washers in this PSI range are typically gas powered units.

 LIGHT
1300-1700 PSI
MEDIUM
1800-2000 PSI
HEAVY-DUTY
2100+ PSI
Patio Furniturecheckmark_circle
Vehiclecheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Lawn Equipmentcheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Stairscheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Sidingcheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Fencingcheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Deck or Patiocheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Second Storycheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Garage Floorcheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Drivewaycheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Farm Equipmentcheckmark_circle
Paint Preparationcheckmark_circle

Other Features to Consider

Once you have decided on a electric or gas powered model and the PSI range that suits your needs, there are several other items to consider when selecting a pressure washer.

Adjustable Spray Patterns: The spray guns on most pressure washers offer variable spray patterns, but the range of patterns will vary from model to model. The most basic offering is an adjustable wand that allows you to switch between a narrow, high pressure pencil spray pattern and wider fan spray pattern. Interchangeable spray tips is another common offering. Typically, the spray tips come in sets of 3 to 5, offering a range of spray patterns for more precise control and different cleaning projects. A variant of the spray tips is a project dial, which offers many spray patterns in one handy attachment. To adjust the spray pattern simply turn the dial to the spray pattern that best suits the job.

PVC vs. Rubber Hoses: The hose on a pressure washer can come in a variety of lengths, diameters and materials. Most commonly, the hose is constructed of  rubber or PVC. Rubber hoses tend to be more flexible and kink resistant than PVC, but both are suitable alternatives. As far as hose length goes, consider the types of projects you will be working on to determine if the hose length is sufficient.

Plastic vs. Metal Spray Guns: You will find that pressure washer spray guns are typically all plastic construction, or a combination of metal and plastic. Spray guns with metal components tend to more durable than their all plastic counterparts.

Onboard Accessory Storage: Though not essential, onboard accessory storage is a handy feature that allows you to keep all of the accessories including, the spray gun, wand, and spray tips in one, easily accessible location. No more hunting around for missing parts.

Hose Reel: Some pressure washer models come with a hose reel that enables you to easily wind and unwind of the high pressure hose without kinking or bending.  This makes for easier and neater storage of the unit when not in use.

Benefits of Owning a Pressure Washer

Regardless of what pressure washer you ultimately decide to purchase, the benefits owning one are obvious:

1
Cleans Faster
A pressure washer is simply faster and more effective at cleaning driveways, patios, decks, windows, and vehicles than traditional “bucket-and-brush” methods that you have used in the past. You’ll get the job done faster and it will look cleaner than if you had washed it by hand
2
Professional Results
You'll get professional looking results at a fraction of the cost. Over time, the investment of owning a pressure washer definitely pays off.
3
Water Conservation
You’ll use less water to get the job done. Pressure washers reduce water consumption by up to 80% versus a standard garden hose without an automatic shutoff nozzle, reducing gray water runoff.

RELATED ARTICLES

Qu’est-ce qu’un nettoyeur haute pression et comment ça marche?

Un nettoyeur haute pression, également connu sous le nom de laveuse à pression, est un dispositif motorisé qui propulse l’eau à haute pression pour enlever la saleté, la poussière, la crasse et les taches des véhicules, des parements, du béton et de la pierre, des clôtures en bois et des ponts, des fenêtres, et tout ce qui se trouve autour de la maison. Les travaux de nettoyages difficiles qui prendraient des heures à effectuer manuellement avec un tuyau d’arrosage, un seau et une brosse à récurer peuvent être complétés en une fraction du temps avec l’aide d’un nettoyeur haute pression. Non seulement les nettoyeurs haute pression travaillent rapidement lorsque confrontés avec ces projets de nettoyage, ils réduisent aussi la consommation globale d’eau par plus de 80%.

Anatomie d’un nettoyeur haute pression :

Quel que soit le nettoyeur haute pression que vous choisissez d’acheter, vous trouverez la disposition de base et la conception tout à fait semblable d’un modèle à l’autre. Les éléments clés d’un nettoyeur haute pression sont :

A
Moteur électrique ou moteur à gaz – La source d’alimentation de la pompe haute pression. Le moteur est dissimulé à l’intérieur du châssis de la laveuse à pression sur les modèles électriques, tandis que le moteur est facilement visible sur un modèle à gaz.
B
Entrée d’eau — attache à un tuyau d’arrosage et attire l’eau dans la pompe du robinet.
C
Pompe à haute pression – L’eau est aspirée dans la pompe à haute pression où elle est mise sous pression avant d’être expulsée par la sortie d’eau.
D
Tuyau à haute pression – spécialement conçue et renforcée pour le transport en toute sécurité de l’eau sous pression vers le pistolet.
E
Pistolet/Tube-rallonge — conçu avec un système de déclenchement, le pistolet favorise l’utilisateur et active et désactive le jet d’eau haute pression en serrant ou relâchant la gâchette dans la poignée du pistolet.
F
Roues — permets au nettoyeur haute pression d’être facilement roulé d’un endroit à l’autre — sans le lever.

En plus de ces éléments clés, vous trouverez que certaines unités sont équipées d’inclusion des réservoirs de détergent ou applicateurs de détergents, des buses de pulvérisation qui vous permettent de modifier la forme du jet d’eau, et d’autres accessoires conçus pour des projets spécifiques de nettoyage tels que les automobiles, le lavage de plancher, ou le lavage des vitres.

A
Moteur électrique ou moteur à gaz – La source d’alimentation de la pompe haute pression. Le moteur est dissimulé à l’intérieur du châssis de la laveuse à pression sur les modèles électriques, tandis que le moteur est facilement visible sur un modèle à gaz.
B
Entrée d’eau — attache à un tuyau d’arrosage et attire l’eau dans la pompe du robinet.
C
Pompe à haute pression – L’eau est aspirée dans la pompe à haute pression où elle est mise sous pression avant d’être expulsée par la sortie d’eau.
D
Tuyau à haute pression – spécialement conçue et renforcée pour le transport en toute sécurité de l’eau sous pression vers le pistolet.
E
Pistolet/Tube-rallonge — conçu avec un système de déclenchement, le pistolet favorise l’utilisateur et active et désactive le jet d’eau haute pression en serrant ou relâchant la gâchette dans la poignée du pistolet.
F
Roues — permets au nettoyeur haute pression d’être facilement roulé d’un endroit à l’autre — sans le lever.

Termes importants de nettoyeur haute pression

Vous pouvez rencontrer des termes inconnus lorsque vous magasinez pour une laveuse à pression. L’énumération suivante est un glossaire des termes les plus courants et leurs définitions.

PSI : livres par pouce carré. Une mesure de la pression d’eau produite par la pompe. Plus le niveau de pression est élevé, plus la pression est générée.

GPM : gallons par minute, se réfère au volume d’eau que le nettoyeur haute pression utilise lorsque le pistolet est engagé. Un grand nombre de gallons par minute signifie généralement un nettoyage plus efficace.

CU : Unités de nettoyage, est calculé en multipliant PSI x GPM. Le nombre combiné est un bon indicateur de l’efficacité globale relative du nettoyage, plus le nombre est grand et meilleurs sont les résultats.

CC : Centimètres cubes. Une mesure commune de la taille du moteur à gaz. Plus le CC est élevé, Plus gros est le moteur et plus grande sera la puissance générée.

Choisir le nettoyeur haute pression idéal

En gros, il existe deux types de nettoyeurs haute pression conçus pour un usage résidentiel – le nettoyeur alimenté à l’électricité et le nettoyeur alimenté au gaz. Les nettoyeurs électriques à haute pression sont plus compacts et plus légers que leurs homologues à essence, et sont idéals pour les petits et moyens projets de nettoyage résidentiels. Les nettoyeurs haute pression sont également relativement sans entretien et ne nécessitent aucun changement d’huile ou de remplissage d’essence. En revanche, les nettoyeurs haute pression avec moteur à gaz alimenté délivrent une pression plus élevée que les unités électriques, ce qui les rend idéales pour les projets de nettoyages d’une amplitude moyenne jusqu’aux projets demandant des nettoyages plus rugueux. Les nettoyeurs à haute pression au gaz sont également idéaux si vous travaillez dans des zones où une prise électrique n’est pas disponible. Le moteur d’un nettoyeur haute pression à moteur, comme d’autres équipements alimentés au gaz, nécessite cependant un entretien régulier pour le maintenir en bon état de fonctionnement.

ÉLECTRIQUEÀ ESSENCE
checkmark_blueCompact et légercheckmark_bluePlus puissant et durable
checkmark_blueEntretien minimal — aucun besoin d’ajouter de l’essence ou de l’huilecheckmark_bluePortabilité ultime — aucun besoin de localiser une source d’alimentation ou de gérer des rallonges
checkmark_blueIdéal pour des projets de nettoyage d’une moyenne amplitudecheckmark_blueUne large gamme de projets de nettoyage nécessitant une puissance allant de médiane à robuste.

Combien de lb/po² sont suffisants?

Les nettoyeurs haute pression pour des travaux légers dans la gamme de 1 300 à 1 700 lb/po2 sont parfaits pour le nettoyage des meubles de patio, de l’équipement pour la maintenance de la pelouse, des escaliers et des véhicules tels que les automobiles et les petits VUS.

Les nettoyeuses haute pression pour travaux de moyenne amplitude dans la gamme de 1 800 à 2 000 lb/po2 peuvent attaquer de plus grands projets comme de plus gros VUS, les VR, les parements et les clôtures, les terrasses, les planchers de garage et les allées.

Les nettoyeurs haute pression pour gros travaux de 2 100 lb/po2 et plus offrent une puissance de nettoyage supplémentaire et sont idéaux pour les grands travaux tels que les longues allées, le matériel agricole, et le décapage de peinture. Les nettoyeurs haute pression dans cette gamme de pression sont généralement alimentés au gaz.

 LEGERS
1 300 - 1 700 lb/po²
MOYENNE
1 800 – 2 000 lb/po²
GROS
2 100+ lb/po²
Meubles de jardincheckmark_circle
Voiturescheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Équipment de jardincheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Escalierscheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Revêtement extérieurcheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Clôturescheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Terrasse ou patiocheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Deuxième étagecheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Plancher de garagecheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Entrée de voiturescheckmark_circlecheckmark_circle
Équipement de fermecheckmark_circle
Préparation à la peinturecheckmark_circle

Autres caractéristiques à considérer

Il existe plusieurs autres éléments à considérer lors du choix d’un nettoyeur haute pression, une fois que vous avez fait votre choix entre le modèle alimenté au gaz ou le modèle électrique, et la gamme de pression qui convient à vos besoins.

Motifs de pulvérisation réglables : Les pistolets de pulvérisation sur la plupart des nettoyeurs haute pression offrent des motifs de pulvérisation variables, mais la gamme de motifs variera d’un modèle à l’autre. L’offre la plus basique est un tube-rallonge réglable qui vous permet de permuter entre un motif de pulvérisation étroit à haute pression et un motif de pulvérisation en éventail plus large. Les buses interchangeables sont une autre option commune. En règle générale, les embouts de pulvérisation sont disponibles en jeu de 3 à 5, offrant une gamme de motifs de pulvérisation pour un contrôle plus précis et des projets de nettoyage différents. Une variante des buses de pulvérisation est une rondelle de pulvérisation, qui offre de nombreux motifs de jet dans un accessoire pratique. Pour régler le motif de pulvérisation, il vous suffit de tourner la rondelle sur le motif de pulvérisation qui convient le mieux au travail.

PVC vs. Tuyau de caoutchouc à haute pression : Le tuyau sur un nettoyeur haute pression peut venir dans une variété de longueurs, de diamètres et de matériaux. Plus fréquemment, le tuyau est constitué de caoutchouc ou de PVC. Les tuyaux en caoutchouc ont tendance à être plus souples et plus résistants au pliage que le PVC, mais les deux sont des alternatives appropriées. En ce qui concerne la longueur du tuyau, examiner les types de projets sur lesquels vous travaillerez pour déterminer si la longueur du tuyau est suffisante.

Plastique vs. Pistolets de métal : Vous trouverez que les pistolets de nettoyeur haute pression sont généralement entièrement d’une construction en plastique, ou une combinaison de métal et de plastique. Les pistolets avec des composants métalliques ont tendance à durer plus longtemps que leurs homologues entièrement en plastique.

Stockage intérieur pour accessoire : Bien que non essentiel, le stockage intérieur pour accessoire est une fonctionnalité pratique qui vous permet de garder tous les accessoires, y compris le pistolet, le tube-rallonge, et les buses de pulvérisation dans un endroit facilement accessible. Personne ne cherche les pièces manquantes.

Dévidoir : Certains modèles de nettoyeur haute pression sont livrés avec un dévidoir qui vous permet d’enrouler et de dérouler facilement le tuyau haute pression sans pli ou flexion. Cela rend le stockage de l’unité plus facile et plus propre lorsqu’elle n’est pas utilisée.

Avantages de posséder un nettoyeur haute pression

Indépendamment de votre choix de nettoyeur haute pression, les avantages d’en posséder un sont évidents :

1
Nettoyage plus efficace
Un nettoyeur haute pression est tout simplement plus rapide et plus efficace pour nettoyer les allées, les patios, les terrasses, les fenêtres et les véhicules que les méthodes traditionnelles de « seau et brosse » telles qu’utilisées dans le passé. Le travail s’effectuera plus rapidement et sera plus propre que si vous aviez lavé à la main.
2
Résultats professionnels
Obtenez des résultats de nettoyage professionnels à une fraction du coût. Les services de nettoyage de fenêtre sont passés
3
Écologique
Vous utiliserez moins d’eau pour effectuer le travail. Les nettoyeurs haute pression utilisent 80% moins d’eau que.